Home > Campus Phase II Development > Message by Chairman
Message by Chairman

Dr. Eddy C Fong, GBS, JP, Chairman of the CouncilThe OUHK started out as a provider of distance education in 1989. We have since evolved from offering high quality and flexible higher education opportunities to adults to providing a broad spectrum of programmes from undergraduate to doctoral level for the wider community. In order to increase opportunities for the large number of school leavers and associate degree holders to attain a bachelor’s degree, we added in full-time face-to-face programmes in 2001, and we have started admitting students from the mainland China soon afterward.

Education is the most important driver for the progress of our society. The OUHK has always kept its fingers firmly on the pulse of learners’ needs, and met them with a range of programmes in various modes, disciplines and localities. Our four Schools and one Institute currently offer more than 190 programmes and over 600 courses to nearly 20,000 students each year. As our technological build-up matures, we are reaching out to the international community with online presentations.

The completion of the campus extension project has further strengthened our capacity for future development and enhanced our student support. The joint efforts of colleagues, students and alumni, as well as the generous support of friends in the community have turned the project into a resounding success. My sincere gratitude and appreciation goes to all of you for your tremendous contributions. Together we have created an improved learning environment for our students and teachers, who can now enjoy a more vibrant and robust campus life.

Looking ahead, the University will continue to flourish, and cross new milestones in pursuit of excellence, steadfastly towards the objective of widening access, and creating a realm of education equity for our society.


Dr. Eddy C Fong
Chairman of the Council




Maintained by: Public Affairs Unit ( pau@ouhk.edu.hk )
Modified Date: Dec 03, 2013