Home > Local applicants > About the OUHK
About the OUHK

Established by the Hong Kong Government in 1989, the Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) started off as a pioneer in providing higher education opportunities to all aspiring students through open and flexible learning. In 2001, the university introduced full-time face-to-face degree programmes for high school leavers just as any conventional universities in Hong Kong do. In 2007, OUHK joined the “Joint University Programmes Admission System” (JUPAS) for admitting full-time face-to-face undergraduate students.

Today, OUHK has evolved into a unique university in Hong Kong that offers two broad areas of studies: (a) full-time programmes for about 10,000 students who receive conventional face-to-face university education; and (b) part-time programmes that use the latest education technology to offer flexible multi-mode learning to 9,500 students at sub-degree, degree, and post-graduate levels. Most of these part-time students are working adults.

The University’s six Schools – Arts and Social Sciences, Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration, Education and Languages, Nursing and Health Studies, Science and Technology and the Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE) – offer more than 220 programmes that lead to sub-degree, bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, and doctoral degree. The courses cover a wide variety of choices including arts, humanities, languages, social sciences, business administration, nursing, science and technology.

Apart from providing part-time postgraduate programmes in distance learning mode for the degree holders, the University also offers over 40 face-to-face postgraduate programmes in a range of areas including Chinese literature, English linguistics, translation, creative and cultural industries management, cultural and heritage tourism, autism spectrum disorder, international economics and development, crime control and social policy studies, business administration, corporate governance, corporate finance and compliance, global business and marketing, accounting, engineering, environmental studies, Chinese medicinal nursing, quantitative analysis, safety and occupational health, as well as energy and environmental sustainability.

Qualifications awarded by OUHK are on par with those offered by other Government-established universities in Hong Kong and are fully recognized by the Hong Kong SAR Government, educational institutions, professional associations, accreditation bodies, and employers in Hong Kong and overseas.


Modified Date: Nov 01, 2018

首頁 > 本地申請人 > 香港公開大學
香港公開大學

香港公開大學於1989年由香港政府創辦,是有教無類、開放教育的先驅,通過靈活開放的教學模式,為有志進修人士提供接受高等教育的機會。由2001年開始,公開大學與本港其他常規大學一樣,為修畢中學課程的學生提供全日制面授學士課程,並於2007年加入「大學聯合招生辦法」,招收全日制面授本科學位課程學生。

今天,公開大學已蛻變成一所別樹一幟的大學,提供全日制以及靈活的兼讀制兩個學習模式供學生選擇。本校現時約有10,000 名學生修讀傳統全日制大學課程。另外,公開大學利用最高端的教學科技,為9,000名兼讀制學生提供多元靈活的學習模式,修讀副學位、學士學位及研究生課程。大部分利用這個學習模式進修的學生均為在職人士。

公開大學下設六所學院 — 人文社會科學院李兆基商業管理學院教育及語文學院護理及健康學院科技學院李嘉誠專業進修學院 — 提供逾220個課程,程度由副學士、學士、碩士至博士,內容涵蓋人文學科、語文、社會科學、工商管理、護理、科學及科技。

除了為擁有學士學位的人仕提供兼讀制遙距學習的研究生課程外,公開大學亦開辦超過40多個面授的研究生課程。這些課程內容涉獵範圍甚廣,包括中國文學、英文語言學、翻譯、文化創意產業管理、文化及保育旅遊、自閉症譜系障礙、國際經濟及發展、犯罪控制與社會政策研究、工商管理、企業管治、公司財務與法規、環球商業及市場學、會計、工程學、環境學、中醫護理、量化分析、安全及職業健康,以及能源和環境的可持續發展。

公開大學所頒授的學歷,與香港政府創辦的其他大學相同,獲香港特區政府、教育機構、專業團體、認證機構及本地和海外僱主的認可。


更新日期: Oct 29, 2019