Home > JUPAS Application > About OUHK's Undergraduate Programme
About OUHK's Undergraduate Programme

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) was established by the Government in 1989. With the mission of providing Education for All, the University extended its services by offering full-time Bachelor’s Degree programmes in 2003. The University has also joined the Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS) since 2007.

The University’s six Schools — School of Arts and Social Sciences, Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration, School of Education and Languages, School of Nursing and Health Studies, School of Science and Technology and the Li Ka Shing School of Professional and Continuing Education — offer a variety of programmes for students to choose from. Most programmes are taught in English though programmes in the Chinese medium are also available. All of our programmes go through stringent quality assurance mechanisms and are widely recognized by employers, including The Hong Kong SAR Government, NGOs as well as private enterprises, and a number of tertiary/professional institutions which grant a range of exemptions to our graduates.

Since the 2015/2016 academic year, the Education Bureau of the HKSAR (EDB) has introduced the Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP) and OUHK has been selected as one of the participating institutions. From the 2018/19 academic year, more OUHK programmes have been selected under the expanded and regularized scheme. In the 2020/21 academic year, 12 SSSDP programmes covering a wide range of academic disciplines such as financial technology, creative arts and film arts, sports management, testing and certification and health care, which total 1,130 subsidized places, will be offered by the University.

Since the 2017/18 academic year, the EDB has also provided a non-means tested annual subsidy for eligible students pursuing full-time locally-accredited local self-financing undergraduate programmes in Hong Kong (excluding those from SSSDP) offered by eligible participating institutions, including the OUHK. For the 2020/21 academic year, the annual subsidy amount has increased to HK$32,100, meaning greater benefits for local students.

Currently, there are over 9,000 students enrolled in the undergraduate programme at the OUHK. To cope with the increasing demand for space resulting from the rapid student population growth, the Univeristy has established the Jockey Club Campus to train professionals in the fields of cultural and creative arts, testing and certification, and healthcare services. Also, in the face of challenges posed by the city’s ageing population, we have started a new campus project — the OUHK Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare (IOH) — to train up individuals with the aim of supplying the much-needed manpower for our society, and helping to build a healthier Hong Kong.

Upon completion in 2020, the IOH will house all of the University’s existing and new health-related programmes, plus a suite of other facilities for enhancing students’ learning experiences. It will also become a health education and community healthcare hub in the heart of Kowloon.


Maintained by: Admissions & Enrolment Office (Undergraduate) ( regadmug@ouhk.edu.hk )
Modified Date: Jan 08, 2020