Overview

 
The Master of Social Sciences (MSSCF) programme offered by the Department of Social Sciences of OUHK is the only master's programme in Hong Kong that incorporates the disciplines of economics, psychology, political science and social policy, while at the same time providing an option for students to declare their specialization. Students could select an interested specialization, namely (1) Applied Economics and Policy Analysis, (2) Applied Psychology, (3) Criminology and Social Policy Studies and (4) Global Governance. The common core and specialization courses will be taught by a strong team of experts from economics, psychology, sociology and political science backgrounds. Students from diverse backgrounds also form circles which create synergy for effective learning.
 
Aims
 
The MSSCF programme aims at training postgraduate students with advanced knowledge and applied skills in economics, psychology, sociology and political science. It also aims at helping students develop the professional and personal competence required to work in the field of global and social policy and to engage in professional practices in social and economic development; this involves gaining critical knowledge and skills in analysing and appreciating local and global policy issues and the ability to formulate and assess policy options that ensure effective, appropriate and sustainable outcomes, and improve social well-being.
 
Language of instruction
 
All courses are taught in English and supplemented by Chinese, as cases from Greater China will be occasionally used in demonstrating theoretical analysis in different courses. English is the medium of instruction in both teaching and assessment. Students may be allowed to complete their written assessments in Chinese if extensive case studies of China are included; prior approval from the course instructor must be sought.
 
 

Maintained by: School of Arts & Social Sciences ( as@ouhk.edu.hk )
Modified Date: Oct 31, 2019

課程介紹

 
由香港公開大學人文社會科學院社會科學系開辦的社會科學碩士課程涵蓋經濟學、心理學、政治科學及社會政策等範疇,此碩士課程亦供學生選取專科研究(下稱「專研」)。學生可按興趣從以下四個專科當中選擇一個專研。四個專科分別為:(1) 應用經濟學及政策分析、(2) 應用心理學、(3) 犯罪學及社會政策研究、 (4)全球治理。本課程的必修及專科科目均由經濟學、心理學、社會學、及政治科學的專業導師教授。課程適合來自不同社會背景的學生,多元學生背景為學習帶來協同作用,豐富學生社交接觸機會,從以提升學習效率。
 
目的
 
本課程旨在培養學生在經濟學、心理學、社會學及政治科學等方面的專業技能,幫助他們成為具備多元化專業知識人才,並將所學知識應用到全球及社會政策研究,促進社會經濟發展。透過研究本地及全球政策議題,學生能建立廣闊的知識基礎,發展明辨式思考能力,並掌握如何評估政策方案,找出行之有效的社會政策方案,從以改善社會福祉。
 
授課語言
 
所有科目均以英語授課,並輔以中文,以便在有需要時解釋與大中華相關的議題。教學和評核均以英語進行。如書面評核的主要內容與大中華相關,學生可以中文完成有關評核,惟事前必須先取得科目導師許可。
 

部門: 人文社會科學院 ( as@ouhk.edu.hk )
更新日期: Oct 31, 2019