Skip to content
  • Prospective Students
  • Current Students
  • Alumni
  • Tutors
  • Staff
  • Media
  • Media Enquiries
    General enquiries: 2711 2100
    Media enquiries: 2768 6355
      2768 6386
    Year: 2017 2016 2015 

    Press Release 

      OUHK conferred Honorary University Fellowships on four distinguished leaders 06/11/2017
    Picture content

    The four fellowship recipients (from left): Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho, Prof. Nora Tam Fung-yee, Dr Maggie Koong May-kay, and Dr Samuel Lam Pak-nin.


    Group photo of Principal Officers of the University and the four fellowship recipients.


    Addressing the ceremony, Mr Michael Wong lauded the four fellowship recipients as forerunners in their respective professions. He also thanked them for their support towards the OUHK over the years.
    Four distinguished community leaders were conferred Honorary University Fellowships by The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) last Friday (3 November). The four recipients are Dr Maggie Koong May-kay, Dr Samuel Lam Pak-nin, Prof. Nora Tam Fung-yee, and Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho. OUHK Pro-Chancellor Dr Charles Lee Yeh-kwong presided at the ceremony.

    Addressing the ceremony, Council Chairman Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam said that all of the four fellowship recipients are forerunners in their respective professions, for which they have not only led and enlightened those in their fields, but have also dedicated themselves to educating and inspiring the younger generation.

    He said that the OUHK is truly grateful to the four recipients who have walked hand-in-hand with the University to advance its mission. “These four distinguished leaders have provided us with numerous timely support and sponsorships during many critical stages of our development. They have supported our campus development, educational technology exploration, course design, academic exchange, research, student activities, and scholarships and bursaries, laying the ground for our rapid development over the years,” Mr Michael Wong said.

    OUHK President Prof. Yuk-Shan Wong also expressed his heartfelt thanks to the four distinguish leaders for their relentless support and valuable advice. He said, “As a self-financing university with no Government support for our recurrent expenditure, the OUHK has been tackling challenges not faced by other publicly funded local tertiary institutions. On the other hand, our dynamism, resourcefulness and efficacy have enabled us to proactively identify and respond to the education needs of the society without compromising the quality of teaching and service. Looking ahead, with your support and guidance, I am sure that the OUHK can accomplish more and create miracles in many more lives.”

    Brief profiles of the four recipients are as follows:

    Dr Maggie Koong May-kay, Chief Principal of Victoria Educational Organization, has made valuable contributions to enhancing the quality of early childhood education and care, living environments and child rights in Hong Kong, mainland China and across the world. She is a member of the Advisory Peer Group for the School of Education and Languages of the OUHK and an honorary advisor to the University’s Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education.

    Dr Samuel Lam Pak-nin is a diagnostic radiology specialist who pioneered the use of filmless digital radiology in Canada. Following the example of his late grandfather Mr Lam Woo, Dr Lam has devoted much time and energy to health, education, social welfare services and church work. The Lam Woo Foundation has agreed to make a generous donation to the OUHK for the construction of its Sheung Shing Street campus, on which the new Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare will be located.

    Prof. Nora Tam Fung-yee, Chair Professor of the Department of Chemistry at City University of Hong Kong, has dedicated herself to the promotion of scientific research and education, as well as environmental conservation. She has served as an External Programme Assessor for several environmental studies programmes offered by the OUHK, and has been an external member of the University’s Programme Review and Validation Committee since 2014.

    Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho, founder of Group Sense Limited and a former Legislative Council member, has been committed to promoting scientific technology development and strengthening scientific collaboration between Hong Kong and mainland China. He was a Council member of the OUHK as well as a member of the Finance Committee and the Chairman of the Student Loan Management Committee.

    For the full profiles of the four recipients, please refer to the press release – “OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships on four distinguished leaders” (4 October):

    About the OUHK:
    Established by the Government in 1989, The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) has developed into a full-fledged university providing high quality and flexible university education at various levels to secondary school graduates and working adults. As a dynamic and innovative university, the OUHK currently offers about 220 programmes to more than 9,500 full-time students and 10,000 part-time students. Our mission is to advance learning, knowledge and research that meet students’ learning aspirations and society’s talent needs, focusing on practical and professional programmes.

    OUHK comprises four Schools, i.e. School of Arts and Social Sciences, Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration, School of Education and Languages, and School of Science and Technology. The Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education offers overseas degree programmes and short courses. OUHK website:
      Media Enquiries: Public Affairs Unit
    Tel : 2768 6355 E-mail:
    Site Map