Year: 2019 2018 2017 

Press Release 

  OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships 08/10/2006

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) will award Honorary University Fellowship to Prof. Chan Yuk-shee, Dr. Chiu Chun-bong, Mr. Ian MacCallum, Dr. Vivian Wong Taam Chi-woon and Dr. Geoffrey Yeh in recognition of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields and exceptional contributions to the University on Saturday, 11 November 2006.

OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships  

Prof. Chan Yuk-shee is currently Senior Advisor to the President and Chair Professor of Finance of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). During his 16 years' service at the HKUST, he had served as the Founding Dean of the Business School and Vice-President. As a strong advocate for internationalisation and strategic alliances in higher education, Prof. Chan has been active in promoting international exchanges and collaborations in the local tertiary education sector.

Prof. Chan is also active in many different spheres of public affairs and community service. He is currently Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Social Work Training and Manpower Planning, also member of many public sector and government committees. From 1996 to 2004, Prof. Chan served at the OUHK Council and contributed significantly to the work of the Human Resources Committee, the Physical Resources Committee and the Professorial Nomination Committee.


OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships

Dr Chiu Chun-bong is Managing Director of Billabong Enterprises Co. Ltd. and The Chius Manufacturing Co. Ltd. He is also a member of the Executive Committee of the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong and has been serving as Permanent Honorary Chairman of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce since 1982.

While making many contributions to the commerce sector and social welfare, Dr Chiu has also been a generous and enthusiastic supporter of tertiary institutions in Hong Kong. Dr Chiu served on the OUHK Council from 1997 to 2005, and continues to serve on the University's Sponsorship and Development Fund Committee.



Mr Ian MacCallum is a founding trustee and the current Vice-Chairman of the Croucher Foundation. Formerly the senior partner of the leading law firm of Wilkinson & Grist, Mr. MacCallum has long been actively involved in the public affairs of Hong Kong. He has held important positions in the Hong Kong Law Society, the Salvation Army Advisory Board and the Hong Kong Bible Society; was a member of the territory's Basic Law Consultative Committee and has been a member of the General Committee of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce.

In 1995 when the OUHK planned to develop an electronic library to further the development of distance learning and academic studies, Mr MacCallum was consulted and he responded with encouraging enthusiasm. The project has become a reality with a HK$10-million grant from the Croucher Foundation. The Foundation has since been a regular supporter of the OUHK’s research and academic activities in the natural sciences, technology and medicine.


OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships

Dr Vivian Wong Taam Chi-woon was an academic with the University of Hong Kong (HKU) before turning to public health at the World Bank. She was former Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority and Queen Mary Hospital/Tsan Yuk Hospital.

Dr. Wong served on the Council of the Open Learning Institute which was subsequently retitled the OUHK between 1996 and 2003. Her suggestions to the University have led to the introduction of successful new initiatives for enhancing academic and teaching quality. When she was a member of the University Grants Committee (UGC), she underscored the importance of continued adult education to the society at large and her support was instrumental in the UGC’s decision to invite the OUHK to participate in the deliberation on the Higher Education Reform.


OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships




Dr Geoffrey M.T. Yeh is Chairman of Hsin Chong International Holdings Ltd. He has served as Vice-President of the Hong Kong Construction Association, President of the Society of Builders, and was Chairman of the Hong Kong Futures Exchange. Dr Yeh has made significant and lasting contributions to the local construction and financial sectors.

Dr Yeh is an enthusiastic supporter of local educational and cultural institutions and attaches great importance to the value of education. He donated RMB5 million in June 2006 to the Peking University to establish the Yeh's Lu Xun Chair Professor Fund of Social Sciences. Dr Yeh was a former Chairman of the Incorporated Trustees of Hsin Chong – K.N. Godfrey Yeh Education Fund, which has contributed annual bursary awards to the OUHK for supporting needy students since 1995.

Address by Dr The Hon Charles Lee Yeh-kwong, GBM, JP


Citations on Honorary University Fellowships


Prof Chan Yuk-shee


Dr Chiu Chun-bong, MBE, JP


Mr Ian MacCallum


Dr Vivian Wong Taam Chi-woon, JP


Dr M.T. Geoffrey Yeh, MBE, JP


Reply Speech by Prof Chan Yuk-shee

  Media Enquiries: Ms Belinda Lip, Public Affairs Unit
Tel : 2768 6358 E-mail: