Year: 2019 2018 2017 

Press Release 

  OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships 28/10/2005

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) will award Honorary University Fellowship to Dr Cheung Huen Cheong Thomas, Anne Elizabeth Ely, Tin Hing Sin and Dr Lee Kin Hung for their contributions to the development of the University and the promotion of lifelong learning.

Dr Cheung Huen Cheong Thomas, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Pacific Insurance Company Limited and the Pacific Life Assurance Company Limited, is renowned for his dedicated support to education and generous contributions to society. He is the Emeritus Chairman of several schools in Hong Kong, a member of the University Council of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Honorary Consul for Sri Lanka in the Hong Kong and Macau SARs. Dr Cheung supports a wide range of projects through the Thomas H C Cheung Foundation Limited, and has made available annual scholarship awards for OUHK students since 1997. 


Mrs Anne Elizabeth Ely is the Honorary Director and Deputy Chairman of the Sino-British Fellowship Trust and a Founder Trustee of the Elizabeth Frankland Moore and Star Foundation. A UK-based private trust founded in 1947, the Trust aimed to help Chinese scholars in London with financial difficulties to complete their studies. It later provided support for people from China to undertake postgraduate work in the UK, and for senior British postgraduate scholars to pursue academic activities in China. Since 1986, the Trust has also funded organizations working with the same objectives. During her service, the Trust started to provide the OUHK with annual Visitorship and Discretionary Grants in 1997. Its total contribution amounts to over HK$1.5 million, which has enabled more than 200 staff members of the University and mainland scholars to pay study visits to the UK, mainland China or Hong Kong.


Mr Tin Hing Sin is a Director of the K P Tin Foundation, the charity established by his father, industrialist and philanthropist Dr Tin Ka Ping, in 1982. The Foundation has supported more than 800 charitable projects in Hong Kong, mainland China and Taiwan, with beneficiaries in 40 universities, 70 secondary schools and 40 primary schools. Mr Tin is an ardent supporter of the Bursary Fund for Prison Inmates of the OUHK. Since 1996, the Foundation has made annual contributions to the Bursary Fund and has become a steady and major source of bursaries for prison inmates. Mr Tin also offers his personal support by visiting and corresponding with inmate students. His fine example has been emulated by many individuals and organizations. To date, the Fund has disbursed over 270 bursary awards totalling HK$2.3 million, all from donations. 


Dr Lee Kin Hung is a specialist in obstetrics and gynaecology who has devoted himself to public service. He has been a Member of the Council of the Hong Kong Medical Association for more than two decades and its past President, and a long-standing member of the Medical Council of Hong Kong and its past Chairman. In 2004, he was elected a Member of the Standing Committee of the Convocation and the Court of the University of Hong Kong, his alma mater. Dr Lee is an ardent supporter of education who believes that education has a vital role to play in the advancement of society. Since 1997, he has contributed to the Student Assistance Fund of the OUHK, and provides scholarship awards every year for outstanding students. 

The Fifth Honorary University Fellowship Presentation Ceremony of the OUHK will be held on Sunday (6 November) at 5:45 pm at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre in Wanchai.

  Media Enquiries: Public Affairs Unit
Tel : 2768 6355 E-mail: