Year: 2019 2018 2017 

Press Release 

  OUHK to honour four outstanding personages 19/09/2013

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) will confer honorary doctorates upon Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, Prof. Huang Jiefu, Dr Anthony Francis Neoh, and Dr Wong Yan-lung in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions at its Twenty-second Congregation on 9 December 2013 (Monday).

Download image

Mr. Bunny Chan




Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, SBS, JP (Doctor of Business Administration, honoris causa)

Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun is the Chairman of Prospectful Holdings Ltd, and has been an Independent Non-executive Director of Li Ning Company since 2004. On top of being a business leader with over 30 years' experience in the garment industry, Mr Chan has an active career in community service, particularly with respect to public administration, district development and youth affairs.

Mr Chan formerly chaired the board of directors of Pok Oi Hospital, and is currently the Chairman of the Kwun Tong District Council. He has been a member of many organizations and committees including the HKSAR Financial Reporting Council, a non-official member of the Task Group on Constitutional Development under the Commission on Strategic Development. He is currently a member of the HKSAR Personal Data (Privacy) Advisory Committee and has been a member of the HKSAR Commission on Youth since 2004. In 2012, Mr Chan was appointed a member of the Hong Kong delegation to the 12th National People's Congress of the People's Republic of China.

Mr Chan was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 2002, and was awarded a Bronze Bauhinia Star medal in 2004 and a Silver Bauhinia Star medal in 2009 by the SAR Government in recognition of his contributions to society.

Mr Chan was a Council member of the OUHK from 2006 to 2012. He is currently a member of the University's Sponsorship and Development Fund Committee. Since joining the OUHK Council in 2006, Mr Chan has offered invaluable advice towards the University's development. He has set up the OUHK Chan Tak Education Fund in memory of his beloved late father. Mr Chan was awarded as an Honorary University Fellow by the OUHK in 2008.
Download image

Prof. Huang Jiehu

Prof. Huang Jiefu (Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa)

Prof. Huang Jiefu is the one who successfully performed the first Chinese liver transplantation in 1994, and first Asian who combined liver-kidney transplantation in 1997. He is recognized as the leader of the organ transplantation in China by the national and international organ transplantation communities. He plays a key and vital role in the implementation of the organ transplantation regulation in China as the President of National Organ Transplantation Committee.

Prof. Huang is currently an alternate member of the 16th Chinese Communist Party Central Committee, the Director of the National Organ Donation Working Committee and the Organ Transplantation Clinical Application Committee, the Standing Member of the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) and the Deputy Director of the Subcommittee of Education, Science, Culture, Health and Sports of the CPPCC.

Prof. Huang took up numerous positions in the public sector in mainland China, including Director of the Department of the Hepatic Surgery, Director of the First Affiliated Hospital and Vice-President, then President of Sun Yat-Sen University of Medical Sciences. He was appointed Vice Minister of the Ministry of Health from 2001 to 2013.

For more than 30 years, Prof. Huang has been dedicated to academic research focusing on liver transplantation and hepato-biliary surgery. He is the current Director of the Department of Liver Surgery in Peking Union Medical College Hospital, and visiting or honorary professor at many major universities home and abroad, including Harvard University, MIT, the University of Sydney and Peking University, etc. In 2008, he received a special international award from the International Transplantation Society.

Download image

Dr. Anthony Francis Neoh
Dr Anthony Francis Neoh, SC, JP (Doctor of Social Sciences, honoris causa)

Dr Anthony Francis Neoh is a Senior Counsel and formerly the Chief Adviser to the China Securities Regulatory Commission. Dr Neoh is active in public service and has contributed immensely to the construction and regulation of the capital markets in both Hong Kong and mainland China. With invitation from the Chinese Premier Zhu Rongji in 1998, Dr Neoh served as the Chief Adviser to the China Securities Regulatory Commission till 2004. From 1997 to 2008, Dr Neoh was a member of the HKSAR Basic Law Committee under the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress.

Dr Neoh's involvement in the academic field is equally impressive. He holds many adjunct, honorary and visiting professorial appointments in many prestigious universities around the world including Peking University, Tsinghua University, Zhejiang University and the School of Law at Harvard University, USA. He is currently a Council member of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), a Court member of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, and is also serving the advisory board of Lingnan University which has established the Anthony Neoh Scholarship for his donation in 2011.

Dr Neoh was awarded a Justice of the Peace in 1993. In 2003, he was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws by the CUHK. Over the years, Dr Neoh has given tremendous support for the legal translation programmes in the OUHK. He has also participated as speakers for a series of seminars on legal translation at our University between 2009 and 2010.
Download image

Dr. Wong Yan-lung


Dr Wong Yan-lung, GBM, SC (Doctor of Letters, honoris causa)

Dr The Hon Wong Yan-lung was appointed Secretary for Justice in October 2005 and served in that position until 30 June 2012. During his tenure, Dr Wong has sought to further enhance Hong Kong’s position as a centre for international dispute resolution by revamping the Arbitration Ordinance and attracting top overseas international arbitration bodies to establish a local presence. He has worked tirelessly to promote the use of mediation in Hong Kong, including chairing a cross-sector task force and enacting the Mediation Ordinance. He has appeared as counsel in international arbitrations, been listed on the Bar's List of Arbitrators, and is an accredited mediator since 2012. Dr Wong resumed his private practice in January 2013, after stepping down from public office as Secretary for Justice.

Dr Wong graduated from the University of Cambridge Magdalene College with a BA in Law in 1986, and was later conferred an MA in Law. In 1987, he was called to both the Bar of England & Wales and the Bar of Hong Kong. Before his appointment with the HKSAR Government, Dr Wong was a barrister in private practice. He was elected a Master of the Bench of Middle Temple in October 2007, and was presented an Honorary Fellowship by the Magdalene College, University of Cambridge in 2009. Both the Lingnan University and Hong Kong Shue Yan University conferred Dr Wong with honorary degree of Doctor of Laws in year 2012, in which he was also awarded the Grand Bauhinia Medal by the SAR Government.

The Twenty-second Congregation of the OUHK will be held on 9 December (Monday) at the Arena of Asia World Expo in Lantau Island.
  Media Enquiries: Public Affairs Unit
Tel : 2768 6362 E-mail: