Year: 2019 2018 2017 

Press Release 

  OUHK to confer Honorary University Fellowships 19/10/2012

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) will award Honorary University Fellowships to Mr Ouyang Kegang, Mr Raymond Roy Wong and Professor Yeung Yue-man in recognition of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields and exceptional contributions to the University and society on Friday, 2 November 2012.

Download image




Mr Ouyang Kegang

Mr Ouyang Kegang is the Party Secretary and Provost of the Shaanxi Administration School and a member of the Standing Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference of Shaanxi Province. He is a seasoned administrator, and has made significant contributions to key publications and the administration and educational management of the province.

Mr Ouyang graduated from the Department of History of Shaanxi Normal University. Since then, he has launched a number of major provincial publications, written regularly for Shaanxi Daily, and served as Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the Shaanxi Yearbook. In 1988, he joined the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress of Shaanxi, where he drafted annual work reports and resolutions, and edited the Practical Handbook for Shaanxi Citizens. In 1997, he was appointed to the body that drafted the 'Law of the People's Republic of China on Deputies to the National People's Congress and Deputies to Local People's Congresses'. He became Deputy Mayor of Weinan City, Shaanxi, in 1998 and, during his tenure, made major contributions to the development of local education, public health and television broadcasting. He was presented a national honour in recognition of his enormous efforts in promoting public health.

Since 2004, Mr Ouyang has been Party Secretary and Provost of the Shaanxi Administration School, a training base for county-level civil servants as well as cadres and operational managers of state-owned enterprises. Under his leadership, the School has received repeated commendations from the Chinese Academy of Governance and provincial leaders, and became one of the first academy-designated teaching and scientific research bases.

Mr Ouyang has for long dedicated himself to promoting cooperation among different institutions. In 1997, the Shaanxi Administration School became the first mainland education partner of the OUHK's Lee Shau Kee School of Business and Administration when they jointly launched a higher diploma programme. This programme was a success and, in 2002, the two institutions presented a Master in Business Administration. Mr Ouyang has offered tremendous support for these programmes, which have enrolled more than 500 students since their inception.
Download image

Mr Raymond Roy Wong, SBS

Mr Raymond Roy Wong is an influential figure in the Hong Kong media industry, where his persistence in promoting freedom of the press and contributions to media education have earned him a position of honour and trust in his profession. He received a bachelor's degree from the University of Missouri's School of Journalism in 1959, and later conducted postgraduate research at Stanford University. He has been a newspaper reporter, photographer, editor and producer in the USA and Hong Kong. He joined Television Broadcast Limited as News Controller in 1977 and retired in 2004 as Assistant General Manager.

Mr Wong is a staunch advocate of a free press and impartiality in news reporting. In 2006–07, under his leadership, the Committee on Review of Public Service Broadcasting established by the government suggested developing an independent public broadcaster not beholden to any political patrons or advertisers. Mr Wong has also dedicated himself to nurturing young talent. He has been an Honorary Professor at the Journalism and Media Studies Centre in the University of Hong Kong since 2001. He taught at the School of Communication in Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) in the 1970s and 1990s.

Mr Wong has received many awards for his contributions to journalism and media management, including a Silver Bauhinia Star for 'Distinguished Service to Education and the Development of Journalism and Mass Communication in Hong Kong' from the HKSAR government in 1998. He also received the 'Pioneers in Communication Education' award and was named an Honorary University Fellow by HKBU in 2008.

Mr Wong served on the OUHK Council from 2005 to 2011, contributing his decades of experience and expertise in the media and his dedication to education for the benefit of the University. He was a member of both the Council’s Sponsorship and Development Fund Committee and the Board of Directors of OUHK (China) Ltd.

Download image

Professor Yeung Yue-man, SBS, OBE, JP

Professor Yeung Yue-man is a renowned scholar, a seasoned administrator and an eminent advisor on international development. He is Emeritus Professor of Geography at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, an institution he has served since 1984 in a number of key positions, including University Registrar, Head of the Shaw College and Director of the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies. Professor Yeung also has extensive research and teaching experience in North America, Singapore and mainland China. He graduated from the University of Hong Kong with a bachelor's degree in Geography in 1962, and received his MA and PhD degrees in Canada and the United States in 1966 and 1972, respectively.

Professor Yeung is an authority on the modernization of China and an expert on international development, with a focus on Asian cities and urban planning. He has advised a range of international organizations, including the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, the United Nations University and the United Nations Development Programme. He was the first local scholar to be appointed to the International Scientific Advisory Board of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

In Hong Kong, Professor Yeung has shared his expertise and international experience by serving on a number of government advisory committees. He was Chairman of the Land and Building Advisory Committee and of the Central Policy Unit's Pan-Pearl River Delta Panel, and has been a member of the Housing Authority, the Town Planning Board, the Commission on Strategic Development and the Basic Law Consultative Committee, to name just a few.

Professor Yeung was an external member of the OUHK's Programme Review and Validation Committee from 2008 to 2012 and made major contributions to the University's quality assurance process. He was appointed as a JP in 1995 and received an OBE in 1996. He was also awarded a Silver Bauhinia Star by the HKSAR government in 2003 and was named an Honorary Fellow by the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008.
  Media Enquiries: Public Affairs Unit
Tel : 2768 6355 E-mail: